How many of these prominent Freedom fighters of Telugu descent we know about?

Author: Share:

Let’s remember, salute some prominent Freedom fighters of Telugu descent & from #TrilingaDesa (Telugu land).

1. #వీరపాండ్యకట్టబోమ్మన్ / Veerapandiya Kattabomman

Veerapandiya Kattabomman of Telugu descent was a Chieftain, Polygar from Panchalankurichi(Present day Tamilnadu). He refused to pay tax & rebelled against Britishers by waging war. He was captured & hanged on 16th October, 1799.


2. #ఉయ్యాలవాడనరసింహారెడ్డి / Uyyalawada NarasimhaReddy

Uyyalawada Narasimha Reddy is regarded as “Renati Suryudu”(The Sun of Renadu region), was from a Ex-Polygar family. He saw British EIC’s atrocities, started a rebellion against them with some Villagers & was executed in 1847.


3. #కన్నెగంటిహనుమంతు / Kaneganti Hanumanthu

Kaneganti Hanumanthu led the #PalnaduRebellion against Tax & he was executed by the British. He gave the famous Telugu saying against Britishers, “Neeru Pettava? Naatu Vesaava? Kotha Kosaava? Kuppa Nurchaava? Endhuku Kattali Ra Sisthu?”


 #అల్లూరిసీతారామరాజు / Alluri SeetharamaRaju

Alluri Seetharama Raju was a revolutionary, Hindu yogi & an archer. He is regarded as “Manyam Veerudu”(The Hero of the Jungle). He led Manyam tribals against British in #RampaRebellion (1922-24), was executed at the young age of 27.


5. #కొమరంభీమ్ /KomaramBheem

Komaram Bheem was a Tribal leader. He is regarded as “Gondu Veerudu”(The Hero of the Gond Tribals). He led Gond Tribals against Nizam’s misrule & died during that brutal rebellion. He gave the famous slogan “Jal, Jungle, Zameen”(Water, Forest, Land).


6. #దుగ్గిరాలగోపాలకృష్ణయ్య / #DuggiralaGopalakrishnayya
Duggirala Gopalakrishnayya is regarded as “Andhra Ratna.” He was a Congress leader. A devotee of Lord Rama🕉️, he organised a group “Rama Dandu”(Rama’s Army) in Indian freedom struggle. He led the “Chirala-Perala movement.


7. #వావిలాలగోపాలకృష్ణయ్య / Vavilala Gopalakrishnayya

Vavilala Gopalakrishnayya was a Gandhian. He is regarded as “Andhra Gandhi.” He was a journalist & he later participated in the Indian independence movement. He was also a legislator. He participated in “Vishalandhra Movement.”


8. #పొట్టిశ్రీరాములు / PottiSreeramulu

Potti Sreeramulu is regarded as “Amarajeevi” for fasting to death(56 days) to get a separate state for Telugus. He was a Gandhian, worked for Dalits & was founder-secretary of “Hindu Sangha Samskarana Samithi”(Hindu🕉️ Social Reform League).


9. #టంగుటూరిప్రకాశం / TanguturiPrakasam

Tanguturi Prakasam Pantulu is regarded as “Andhra Kesari”(The Lion of Andhra). He is well known for his fierce role in “Simon Go Back” agitation.

He was a lawyer. He became the first chief minister of newly created Andhra state in 1953.


10. #కొండావెంకటప్పయ్య / Konda Venkatappaiah

Konda Venkatappaiah is one of the founders of Telugu newspaper “Krishna Patrika.”He was associated with Indian National Congress and became the secretary of first Andhra Mahasabha conference that was held at Bapatla in the year 1913.


11. #తెన్నేటివిశ్వనాధం / Tenneti Viswanadham

Tenneti Viswanadham was a politician, freedom fighter. He was well known for his roles in Salt Satyagraha and Quit India movement. He played an instrumental role in establishing “Vizag Steel Plant”(R.I.N.L.) in Visakhapatnam city.


12. #గౌతులచ్చన్న / Gouthu Latchanna

Sardar Gouthu Latchanna was a prominent freedom fighter, legislator, politician from Uttarandhra(North Andhra) region. He took part in Salt Satyagraha, Quit India movements. He participated in many agitations esp. for backward classes, farmers.


13. #భోగరాజుపట్టాభిసీతారామయ్య / Bhogaraju PattabhiSitaramayya

Bhogaraju Pattabhi Sitaramayya was a close associate of #MahatmaGandhi. He was a party president of Indian National Congress. Initially inclined to extremism, he later became a Gandhian. He established “Andhra Bank.”


14. #నీలంసంజీవరెడ్డి / Neelam SanjivaReddy

Neelam Sanjiva Reddy was part of “Quit India movement” & party president of Congress. He was the 1st Chief Minister of reorganised, united Andhra Pradesh state in 1956, the 6th President of India(youngest ever), 2 time Lok Sabha speaker.


15. #కాసుబ్రహ్మానందరెడ్డి / #KasuBrahmanandaReddy

Kasu Brahmananda Reddy popularly known as “K.B.R.” participated in Indian Independence movement. He was a party president of Congress. He was the 3rd Chief Minister of United Andhra Pradesh state & was also Home Minister of India.


16. #బూర్గులరామకృష్ణారావు / Burgula RamakrishnaRao

Burgula Ramakrishna Rao was the first Chief Minister of the erstwhile Hyderabad State. He and  Swami Ramanand Tirtha were influential leaders in the movement against Nizam. Young #PVNarasimhaRao worked under him as a junior lawyer.


17. #పీవీనరసింహారావు / PVNarasimhaRao

“Apara Chanakya” PV Narasimha Rao brought economic reforms as a Prime Minister of India(only Telugu ever to become a PM). He participated in Vandemataram, Quit India movements & the movement against Nizam


18. #వరాహగిరివెంకటగిరి(వీవీగిరి) / VarahagiriVenkataGiri (VVGiri)

Varahagiri Venkata Giri was part of Home Rule, Non-Cooperation movements & popular with Labour, Trade union movements. He was the 4th President of India(the only one that was elected as an Independent candidate).


19. #పింగళివెంకయ్య / PingaliVenkayya

Pingali Venkayya was a Gandhian, Linguist & the designer of “Indian National Flag” He had titles like “Japan Venkayya”(for delivering a Japanese speech), “Jhanda Venkayya”(Jhanda- flag in Telugu), “Patti Venkayya”(Patti- Cotton in Telugu).


20. #గోగినేనిరంగనాయకులు / Gogineni Ranganayakulu (NG Ranga )

N.G. Ranga worked on Farmers issues & was regarded as “The Father of the Indian Peasant Movement.” He was a Parliamentarian for more than 60 years(1930-1991) & was associated with Indian National Congress, Swatantra party.


21. #న్యాపతిసుబ్బారావుపంతులు / Nyapathi Subbarao Pantulu

Nyapathi Subba Rao Pantulu was a journalist & was one of the founders of newspaper “The Hindu.” He is “A Promoter of Liberal Hinduism.” Inspired by #SwamiVivekananda, he founded “Hindu Samajam.” Both were good friends too.


22. #కాశీనాథునినాగేశ్వరరావు / Kasinadhuni NageswaraRao

Kasinadhuni Nageswara Rao is regarded as “Desabandhu”(Friend of the masses) & “Desoddhaaraka”(Uplifter of the masses). He was a journalist & he founded “Andhra Patrika” newspaper which instilled Indian Nationalism in Telugus.


23. #కాళోజీనారాయణరావు/#కాళోజీ / Kaloji NarayanaRao

“Praja Kavi” Kaloji Narayana Rao was a Telugu poet. He was imprisoned under Nizam rule. He was also associated with Arya Samaj & an admirer of #VeerSavarkar. His birth anniversary(Sept- 9th) is “Telangana Language Day.


24. #గోపరాజురామచంద్రరావు/#గోరా / Goparaju RamachandraRao/#Gora

Goparaju Ramachandra Rao popularly known as “Gora” was a Gandhian, Freedom fighter, Atheist, Rationalist & a Social reformer. He propagated “Positive Atheism”. He and his wife #SaraswathiGora founded “Atheist Centre.”



Previous Article

List of Promises made on I-Day and delivered in Time by PM Modi

Next Article

Hyderabad: 15cr spent on Renovation Mozamjahi Market exposed? water leaking all over the places

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

3 × three =